Environmental Health Credential Maps Completed

Credential Mapping Project Funded Through the NEHA Endowment Fund

There is no national environmental health credential mandated by the federal government to ensure levels of education, experience, competency, and continuing education of environmental health professionals.

In response, NEHA created the credential mapping project funded through the NEHA Endowment Fund. The map highlights that the NEHA Registered Environmental Health Specialist/Registered Sanitarian (REHS/RS) credential remains the foremost certification for environmental health professionals.

Overall, an environmental health credential is:

  • recognized in 31 states,
  • required by 28 states and the District of Columbia, and
  • required by statute in 23 states.

Furthermore, the REHS/RS credential is recognized in 8 states, but is voluntary (4 states) or the state has a state-mandated credential (4 states).

By identifying states and jurisdictions that require or use the REHS/RS, we will be able to:

  1. Focus outreach to appropriate environmental health leaders.
  2. Focus government affairs advocacy to the right decision makers.
  3. Understand the changes in the industry to be able to respond.

Thank you to those who donate to the NEHA Endowment Fund. Your donation made it possible for our Government Affairs program to complete this project, which will drive actions to raise the importance of credentialing among decision makers. 

Additional maps are available on the project webpage.  

Environmental Health Credential Map


Release Date: 
Tuesday, March 1, 2022