In a world where environmental health professionals are unsung heroes, the NEHA Awards are an opportunity to spotlight and honor accomplishments. 

A. Harry Bliss Editor's Award

Dr. A. Harry Bliss was the Journal editor in 1969, the year this award was first presented. When he retired, the award was named after him to honor his 40 years of involvement in Journal production. The A. Harry Bliss Editor’s Award recognizes outstanding contributors that advance the cause and interests of the association and the environmental health profession through the Journal.

Certificates of Merit

Each affiliate in good standing is invited to designate one of its members and/or a team to receive a Certificate of Merit from NEHA, thereby nationally recognizing one of their own on a national level. Recipients are announced during the AEC awards program and in the Journal of Environmental Health

Crumbine Medal

Crumbine Award

Named for one of America’s most renowned health officers, Samuel J. Crumbine, MD, the Crumbine Award is given annually to local environmental health jurisdictions that demonstrate unsurpassed achievement in providing outstanding food protection services to their communities. In addition to local jurisdictions, the U.S. Uniformed Services and the U.S. Indian Health Service area programs may also apply if they conduct a local food program. 

Dr. Bailus Walker, Jr. Diversity and Inclusion Awareness Award

This award is given annually to recognize an individual or group that has made significant achievements in the development and enhancement of a more culturally diverse, inclusive, and competent environment.  The qualified individual or group will demonstrate diversity in performance in their organization and community. 

Healthy Homes Award from HUDHUD Secretary's Award for Healthy Homes

These awards provide a national platform to showcase results from a range of housing and indoor environmental health programs. The awards highlight some of the nation’s most significant work on the relationship between living environments and resident health and lays the foundation for future healthy homes work. 

Joe Beck Educational Contribution Award

This award is available on an annual basis to recognize a NEHA member or team of NEHA members in good standing for an educational contribution designed for the advancement and professional development of environmental health professionals through instruction or development of an educational or training tool. 

Past Presidents Award

Each year, NEHA’s Past Presidents identify a hero for the profession who accomplishes much on behalf of environmental health but who does a lot of their work behind the scenes.

Mangold Award winnerWalter F. Snyder Award

The Walter F. Snyder Award for Achievement in Attaining Environmental Quality is presented annually by NSF International and NEHA. 

Walter S. Mangold Award

The Walter S. Mangold Award was first awarded to Walter Mangold in 1956 for his lifetime dedication to upgrading the professional education and performance of sanitarians, for raising the standards of the environmental health practitioner, for professionalizing the individual, and for innovating his many brilliant programs that helped shape our profession throughout the world. The Mangold Award continues to recognize individuals for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the environmental health professional.